Emily’s Garden

Our plans for this website is to showcase a new business each week.  This week, Emily Webb from Emily’s Garden, located on Main Street next to the Town Hall Theater, tells her story:

         I founded Emily’s Garden 31 years ago in the town of Taylorsville, Ca. It began as a manufacturing company of fine bath and body products, wholesaling to stores, mail order catalogs and internet sites across the nation. As time went on, the company grew to sell large quantities to stores like Nordstrom’s, Smith & Hawken, internet/mail order catalog sites like The weddingchannel.com and redenvelope.com or custom corporate gifts for hotels like Pebble Beach.

For about 25 of those years, there was always the constant yearning in the back of my mind for my little “Dream Store.” A place where I could create more and “mass produce” less. As I would visit national trade shows each year, I would always pick up catalogs and ideas for the “Dream Store” that I would one day have and tuck them away in my “Dream Drawer”. Then about a year ago, while driving down Main St. in Quincy, I saw a “For Rent” sign on the perfect little store front. It was then, that I knew it was a “now or never” opportunity.

I began sketching, collecting and creating for my Grand Opening on the night of “Sparkle,” a yearly holiday event on Main St. which draws the community out for a night of festivities. The opening was a grand success, far surpassing my expectations. What I hadn’t expected was how my little store affected people emotionally. It’s a very “pretty” store and what I didn’t know, was that when you are surrounded by “pretty” it makes you feel good. Whether its intoxicating lotions and soaps, vintage antiques or little pots of flowers, when you leave you always feel better. I still do some wholesaling, but my true love is my little store and the people who feel good every time they come in.

Emily’s Garden is open  Weds.-Fri. 12:00-5:00 Sat. 10:00-4:00

        

           Emily’s Window for Sparkle

About quincyca

I am the proud owner of the Alley Cat Cafe & Coffee House in Quincy, California. I'm a member of the Quincy Chamber of Commerce and the Quincy Merchant Group. I started this blog to let people know about our wonderful community and to inspire them to visit.
This entry was posted in Main Street Merchants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

