Why Do I Live in Quincy, California

So, I’m looking frantically for ideas and content for describing Quincy, and it occurs to me… I have my own reason for living here, just tell it.

We came from the Bay Area about 10 years ago.  At the time the kids were young, one in kindergarten, one in first grade.  One day I was driving the kids to school, going along minding my own business, doing the speed limit…. the guy in back of me started screaming at me when he passed, using not so nice hand gestures, calling me names….the speed limit wasn’t fast enough for him.  I got so rattled  I had to pull over.  I started crying, the kids started crying…  that was the day I decided, “We’ve got to get out of here!”

My husband’s family has been vacationing at Bucks Lake for decades, some of his fondest memories of growing up were his two weeks a year at Bucks.  His sister had come to Feather River College and ended up staying, she’s been here over 20 years now.  So, in our quest for “what do we do now”, Quincy was a good place to start.

We came up for a non-vacation visit and instead of heading straight for Bucks Lake, we drove around and took a look at the town with a different lens.  We talked to the Principal of the school, ate at some of the restaurants, noticed there was no coffee after 4:00.  We fantasized about being so close to the lake, and rivers.  It didn’t take us long to feel giddy with the possibility of actually living here.  We looked for a house and found one in Meadow Valley, went back home and started putting things in motion for the move.

Moving to Quincy was the best thing we’ve ever done for our family.  Yes, there are downfalls, but there are anywhere.  But in my opinion, the positives like:

  • I can let my kids walk downtown without ANY fear for their safety
  • People know not only my name, but who my kids are and who my husband is
  • The community cares about each other and when there is a need, we are there for each other
  • I can literally walk out my door and get to a hiking or biking trail within 3 minutes, to the lake within 15, snowshoeing, fishing, kayaking, boating, camping…. it’s all practically in my backyard
  • The only hand gestures I get on the road is a wave

these outweigh any negatives.  I love Quincy,  California and am grateful for that guy that flipped me the bird!

About quincyca

I am the proud owner of the Alley Cat Cafe & Coffee House in Quincy, California. I'm a member of the Quincy Chamber of Commerce and the Quincy Merchant Group. I started this blog to let people know about our wonderful community and to inspire them to visit.
This entry was posted in Why Quincy? and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Do I Live in Quincy, California

  1. Amy Schulz says:

    Great blog, Julie & Emily! This tells our story through our own words.

  2. I’m sure that everyone has a different story to tell and we would all love to hear it. What you may take for granted, the people who don’t live here will probably be “wowed” by.

  3. Natalia says:

    Hi, I just applied for a great job in Quincy (I live in the Bay Area). If I do land the job, I’m concerned about getting a great rental in or near Quincy. Any recommendations? It’s just the cat and me. We could go up to $1,500 month for the rental. Also, how do you think my Miata rag-top would do in the snow?

  4. Cary says:

    Hi. I realize this is probably pretty old but I wanted to reply anyway. My family and I are also considering relocating to Quincy (San Jose natives, been in Reno the last 7 years).

    Quincy, at first glance, seems idyllic. Good schools, ample ammenities for such a small town (Safeway, Dollar General), lots of options for recreation (mostly outdoor stuff but there’s a bowling alley, too!), a hospital, community college, etc.

    My concerns are as follows:

    1. Unsolved quadruple homicide in 1981 just 6 miles from Quincy.
    2. In 2011 an angry resident followed, shot at and eventually killed a young man who had stolen a solar panel from angry resident’s home (20 year old’s two accomplices were also wounded).
    3. In 2013 a man beat his girlfriend’s toddler to unconsciousness, ultimately killing the boy.
    4. In early 2016 a couple was arrested in Quincy with a tortured child locked in their car. The couple, from Salinas, had previously beaten, tortured and killed two other children, dumping the bodies at a storage facility in Redding.

    So, obviously, my concern relates to why psychopaths appear to be drawn to this small town.

    Have you encountered anything at all of this nature, even if not nearly as drastic/serious?

    Thanks in advance for any insight.

    -Cary

Leave a Reply

